A Chicago guide for first-time buyers · Updated October 6, 2026 How we check facts

HomeGrown vs. IHDAccess Home: Comparing Chicago’s Two Largest Down Payment Programs

The City of Chicago’s HomeGrown program and IHDA’s IHDAccess Home are the two largest down payment programs open to Chicago buyers in 2026. HomeGrown is a grant of $10,000 to $70,000 that you keep if you live in the home for five years. IHDAccess Home is a 0% second mortgage of up to $15,000 that you repay when you sell or refinance, or after 30 years.

Last reviewed October 6, 2026 ยท Chicago First Time Home Buyer editorial team

Side by side

HomeGrownIHDAccess Home
Run byCity of Chicago Department of HousingIllinois Housing Development Authority
WhereCity of Chicago onlyStatewide
Amount$10,000 to $70,000Up to $15,000
FormGrant0% interest second mortgage
RepaymentNone if you live in the home 5 yearsDue when you sell, refinance or after 30 years
Cap25% of the purchase priceUp to $15,000
Ownership ruleCurrent homeowners cannot applyFirst-time buyers only
Income limitUp to 150% of area median income, by zoneUp to $137,885 in Cook County, by household size
Your own moneyAt least 1% of the priceNot stated in the announcement
EducationHomebuyer education certificatePre-purchase counseling
Eligible homesSingle-family, condo, townhome, two-unitNot stated in the announcement
Apply throughTRP Lending or Neighborhood Lending ServicesAn IHDA-approved lender

Which fits which buyer

HomeGrown pays more and does not have to be repaid, but it is limited to homes in the city, requires five years of occupancy and runs until its $21 million is used. IHDAccess Home pays less and must eventually be repaid, but it works anywhere in Illinois and comes with IHDA’s 30-year fixed-rate first mortgage.

Can you use both?

No. NHS Chicago, one of HomeGrown’s two administrators, says bond-funded programs cannot be layered with the grant. It names IHDA subsidy programs and the Mortgage Credit Certificate as examples. IHDAccess Home is an IHDA program funded partly with bond proceeds, so plan on choosing one or the other.

HomeGrown can still be layered with some other assistance, as long as its recapture agreement stays in second or third lien position. Its 25% cap is measured before any other assistance is applied. Confirm your combination with the HomeGrown administrator and your lender.

Sources

  1. The Resurrection Project and TRP Lending, HomeGrown program details
  2. Chicago Association of REALTORS, HomeGrown summary, June 3, 2026
  3. Office of the Governor and IHDA, IHDAccess Home announcement, March 11, 2026
  4. TRP Lending, HomeGrown Lender Requirements and Program FAQ
  5. NHS Chicago, HomeGrown Purchase Assistance Program (layering rules)